School Governors are responsible for the strategic development and direction of a school. An effective Governing body is a ‘critical friend’ and works closely in a supportive way with the Headteacher and school staff, whilst at the same time ensuring that an appropriate level of challenge is maintained.

The Governing Body sets the strategic direction of the school, sets out school policies which are implemented by the Headteacher and staff and oversees the management of the school budget.

The Governing Body is responsible for setting targets for pupil achievements at specific key stages, and monitors the progress of the school in meeting these targets.

Governors fall into a number of categories:

  • Parent Governors, who are parents of children in school, and who are elected by the current parents
  • Teacher/Staff Governors, members of staff, elected by the teaching and support staff
  • LA Governors, appointed by the Local Authority (LA)
  • Community Governors, members of the local community, appointed by the Governing Body
  • Associate Governors, appointed by the Governing Body, but with limited voting rights
  • Headteacher – the Headteacher is  a member of the Governing Body, and reports to the Governing Body about the school’s activities and performance.

Ty Sign Primary Governing Body currently consists of:

  • Chair; Mr L Garnett-Jenkins
  • Vice Chair: Mrs N Pegington
  • Headteacher: Mrs A Dacey
  • Community Governor: Cllr Zoe Davies
  • Community Governors: Mrs L Rawlings, Rev M Owen
  • LA Appointed Governors: Clrl Nigel George, Mrs E Wilmore, Mr R Derraven
  • Parent Representative: Mrs L Hammond, Ms S Harrhy, Ms J Legge, Ms E Jeffries
  • Support Staff Representative: Mrs P Williams
  • Teacher Representative: Mr M Morgan, Mrs A Wham

Interested in becoming a Governor? Being a Governor is interesting, often fun, sometimes challenging, and helps ensure that Ty Sign Primary continues to be a vibrant, happy and successful school. If you are interested in learning more about becoming a Governor please contact Mrs Dacey

Please see our Annual Report to Parents

AGM Annual Report to Parents 2018-19